Of loot and grub

Went to Bangkok last week. My first real trip (Malaysia and Changi Airport so dont count) overseas after 1.5 years of wanderlust.

I bought an obscene amount of clothes, most of which were able to expertly conceal my equally obscene waistline. The loot filled a 29 inch suitcase. Am thinking of buying more and selling them. I have complete faith in my fashion sense; I’ll sell everything.

The best thing about Bangkok shopping is that you dont feel guilty, because there is probably no other place on earth where you can get so much for so little. And shopping without guilt nor burden (ok, that’s because my father pays) is just plain shiok.

Love the fact that I can share most with my mother. I believe some will last me through pregnancy and old age, if they ever come.

The most exciting addition to Bangkok since my last visit should be the new Platinum Fashion Mall, with more than 1300 shops. It’s at 222 Petchburi Road, Ratchathewee, 5 minutes away from my hotel!!! Those who wish to devour the mall and its contents whole can stay at the Grand Diamond hotel, just beside it. It satiated me so well, I didnt even need to go to Suan Lum Night Bazaar. It’s the first time I didnt neednt go to Suan Lum!!!

When I booked my hotel (Baiyoke Suite) online I didnt know this: it’s located right in the middle of a fashion wholesale region. How I gawked when our taxi maneuvered its way in. My gawd, we are practically drowning in clothes! But it was a blissful sort of drowning muahaha….

Been quite lucky there, many shopkeepers gave me discounts without even me asking. 😉 Maybe I have the “I need charity” face.

Was on the overhead bridge to MBK when I saw the nicest pair of legs on earth. Yeah, I never ever saw such nice legs in my life! They belong to a lady, FYI. I wonder if her looks match her legs.

Oh and Thai guys are still irritatingly cute (plus soft spoken, plus shy, plus gentlemanly). I dont understand why they have such an obscene surplus of good looking guys (and girls) there. We need this kind of foreign talent!!

The Thais are superbly friendly and warm, as usual. How do they stay so happy-go-lucky all the time? They’re so smiley, they make me smiley too.

I dont know if their King’s birthday is coming; everyone’s wearing (and selling) yellow tee shirts emblazoned with a royal symbol.

And my father is so wei da, ploughed through mountains of clothes with me without a grumble. A grown middle aged man looking at women’s clothes leh! Non-stop except for meals, travel, sleep, toilet and massage!

Foot massage isnt as bad as i thought. I realise I have a rather high threshold for pain. Very intolerant of tickles though. My masseuse Noi was quite amused. Can visit the massage shop at basement level of Platinum Shopping Mall. Cheap and good! Must say the head and shoulder massage is still better at MBK.

Photos soon.

发表评论

