Visited Real Food 真食 at Central Mall basement with Puppy cos I was enthralled by their simple decor and full vegetarian menu, nicely presented outside the eatery.

My pesto pasta was disappointing, as it didn’t come to me piping hot and dripping with pesto sauce. “Aglio olio pasta with french beans” would have been a better name for it. I guess my expectations were raised too high by the out-of-this-world mushroom pesto pasta from one of the 师大夜市 restaurants.. Real pesto pasta should look like this:

Crazy drenched in pesto sauce!

I liked his Mushroom aglio olio, but he didn’t. We both liked the Real Pumpkin soup (served with a large chunk of soft bread with melted cheese), though it might be a tad too watery for soup purists. Anyways, I’m not deterred from visiting the place again (although we felt psychologically unsatisfied and scooted off to Freshness Burger for our tofu burger therapy after footing the bill, heh).

It’s got a very peaceful yet warm ambience, pretty waitresses and a comprehensive menu that’s not too costly. I want to try their fried Chinese noodles, brown rice set and tomato sauce pasta.

I’ve been vegetarian for the past few months and I highly recommend these places:

  • Zen Vegetarian Japanese Restaurant, Midlink Plaza: soba noodles, unagi bento set
  • Rocky Master: Grilled veggie sandwich – chock full of chunky, juicy eggplant and zucchini
  • Forty Hands: Mushroom truffle sandwich – moist and flavourful!
  • The first stall you see after coming up the escalator to 2nd floor, Fortune Centre: most dishes are good, and we especially love the mutton curry noodles, 药材汤面线 and 杏仁奶
  • Freshness Burger, NEX mall, Century Square and Central Mall: TOFU BURGER!!!! The whole experience is therapeutic. The springy tofu is pan fried to golden brown, served piping hot with a huge dollop of avocado salad on top of it, and doused in a light, sweet sour sauce. PERFECT. I am definitely willing to pay $8.90 for the set, which includes fluffy and not greasy Hokkaido potato wedges, and a soft drink. Okay I usually switch that to a hot lemonade or yuja cha – both of which therapeutic by themselves!

Typing this post has made me very hungry. Luckily, I made century egg cold tofu, topped with spring onion that sprang out of a whole onion from the kitchen. Perhaps I should put it in a pot of soil.

P.S: My slow Fujitsu laptop (circa 2007), increasingly mobile lifestyle and craving for novelty has prompted thoughts of getting a Macbook Air………… But i know it’s more of a want than a need. I can always reformat my laptop; I’m just too lazy. Shall wait till I find a very good reason to buy it!

发表评论

